{Current Entry} {Archive} {Notes} {Belly} {Names}
{Image} {Host} {Layout} {Guestbook}

2004-08-15, 8:13 p.m.
don't step on his/her blue suede shoes

Today at church, one of the songs (not one for singing, one for listening) was "How Great Thou Art." And the baby was wiggling like crazy and I told Jason, and he said, "He's doing his Elvis impersonation." Heh.

AND as of yesterday our baby has stuff. We got an antique armoire for like $175, it's being delivered Wednesday. I'm going to put the maternity clothes I borrowed in there and then, you know. Baby stuff. Also my mother-in-law bought some onesies, some union suits, some socks, some hats, a blanket, some little sunglasses (?) and some pacifiers, which disgusted me until I realized I'll be at work a lot of the time after maternity leave and we'll probably have to use pacifiers then. That sucks. (ROFL at my own inadvertent joke.) But yeah. Life is not perfect. Anyway, she also bought a diaper bag which we hate (what is wrong with backpacks? We have like a thousand backpacks around here.) She bought it from a store we don't have, though, so we're stuck with it until we get up there to return it. Sigh. It's ugly. Nice of her to buy stuff, though. But she's going to buy all the fun stuff and we're going to be left buying all the boring crap, like the breast pump, or milking machine as we've been calling it. The one I want is $350. Gah. Jason said he's just going to get a stool and a metal bucket. Brat.

Anyway, today my stepmom and my little sister came by and they brought some little onesie things with long sleeves, and some more socks, and an elephant rattle thing, and a thing of three receiving blankets. And the socks say "newborn socks." Which is funny to me because it seems like the socks were just born. Jason said we should send a congratulatory card to the socks' parents.

Jason has a friend that insists on calling the baby "Fonzie."

Okay that's all. Gotta take my contacts out, they're driving my eyes crazy. And now the dog's barking.

2004-08-12, 11:03 a.m.
sixteen weeks

Now that I am sixteen weeks, I keep hearing echoes of my friend Katherine the OB intern saying "Come over to L&D when you're sixteen weeks! We'll get out the ultrasound machine and figure out the sex!"

Oooooh I am not usually a present-shaker but I am getting really excited to find out. But I am NOT going over there because yeah. I just want to wait until at least my scheduled ultrasound, which is two weeks from today. Because in case something is wrong I don't want to be at work and yadda yadda. Plus it's not like I have extra time when I'm at work, although I did get to sleep from 4:30 am to 6 am my last call. Plus I can't even decide if I want to find out, still. Anyway.

I spent $15 on some lotion at Motherhood Maternity that promises to make me not get stretch marks. I am such a victim of marketing. It smells good, though, so there's something. Also um WHY is it so hard to find maternity clothes in "small?" They say "buy your pre-pregnancy size." Which I would gladly do if you HAD anything in my pre-pregnancy size. It is getting frustrating. I did get some more drawstring pants and some maternity jeans at Target. Which I will wear today because I am OFF and can wear jeans. Hip hip hooray.

I want to get the rug and the crib and the armoire for the baby's room. Like today. And no the baby isn't going to SLEEP in the crib but I just want one for a safe place for it to be, in case one of us has to pee or whatever. Jason is actually so AP without reading anything about it, it's funny. He's like, "We can't put the baby in another ROOM to sleep! That just seems... wrong." Heh. It's true though.

Okay going.

{Previous} {Next}

35 weeks - 2009-04-26
baby girl! - 2008-12-31
15 weeks - 2008-12-11
twelve weeks - 2008-11-19
8 weeks - 2008-10-22