{Current Entry} {Archive} {Notes} {Belly} {Names}
{Image} {Host} {Layout} {Guestbook}

2004-06-28, 5:44 p.m.
uuuggh

The baby would like to point out, once again and emphatically, that he hates chicken.

2004-06-21, 3:30 p.m.
oh look

Oh guilt.

I have subjected my poor babycito to an unnecessary medical procedure. I'm so bad. At my appointment (which, by the way, everything fine, labs all good, not anemic, etc.) they couldn't find the heartbeat. And even though they said it might be too early and blah blah, the doctor said, "Do you want me to order an early ultrasound, since you're not sure about the ovulation date anyway?" And I said YES. And they fit me in this morning. And.

Looks blurry cause I don't have a scanner so I just took a picture of the picture. Heartbeat 167. I thought that little thing was maybe an arm but now I'm thinking it's probably umbilical cord. I liked thinking it was an arm, though. It was such a cute arm.

And now my due date is January 27, so I'm 8 weeks 5 days and not 10 weeks. So I guess maybe I'll just stay on this 9 weeks page for awhile, until I catch up?

Isn't my baby adorable? I am almost believing there's a real baby in there, now.

Too late for Jason to go to work, since we had the appointment and then his parents came by to bring us a recliner (so I can sleep there for my heartburn and my poor aching hip). They took us to lunch also. Tortilla soup yum. Anyway. We're going to look at cars awhile I think. And then I need a nap.

Cutebaby. Sorry I caved and got an early ultrasound when there was no indication for it, really. But at least now we know how old you really are, so nobody will try to induce you before you're even term, or any scary crap like that. xoxo

2004-06-19, 1:42 p.m.
happy girl

So since Jason is basically not budging on our child's first name (he has the girl name totally decided and he's pretty sure on the boy name), he said I could pick the middle names.

And in my dream with our little girl, she was dancing around to the Counting Crows and she was so, so, so happy. I want her to be that happy in her life. So I'm picking something from a Counting Crows song, and Jason thinks it's silly but too bad for him. Heh.

Probably either Elisabeth or Anna. Leaning towards Elisabeth. There is another album I need to buy, though. For research. La la la.

I should have put this in the names category, maybe. Too late.

Okay errands.

2004-06-18, 3:07 p.m.
hey a SHE in my dream

I finally had a dream in which the baby was a girl! Weird. She was about... three years old? And we were dancing around and singing and it was so fun. And now I am not-so-conviced that it's a boy. In fact I think I want a girl. Like, a LOT. Hmm.

Anyway, this girl-baby of ours was blonde-headed too, like all the boy-babies I've dreamt about. Well, except the one who was a Black baby. He had black hair. But that baby is not likely.

Of course neither is a blonde baby... J and I are not blonde. None of our parents are blonde.

I don't know.

Okay I have seriously been meaning to leave for the post office for like an hour.....

2004-06-16, 9:57 p.m.
hmm

I canceled my redundant OB appointment today, so yeah. I guess I'll stick with this little clinic for the time being at least. And and and. Dunno.

I feel like buying baby stuff but I'm still nervous about something bad happening.

Okay getting ready for bed or something.

2004-06-15, 10:19 p.m.
just a little patience

I am over the Doppler thing, for the time being at least. Mia is right in that it might be too early, and then I'd just flip out more because I couldn't find it. Plus, you know, either the baby is okay or he's not and no amount of freaking is going to change that. So anyway. I'll wait until my appointment, and then less than a week after that I start work so I'll be at the hospital anyway and I can use one that's there. Somewhere. I know they leave them lying around in Labor and Delivery, which is not too far from where I'll be. So I think I shouldn't order one. I also think I need to not stay home by myself most of the day, because then I start to worry and think and I end up, for example, foaming at the mouth for a Doppler. Today I was busy and I feel much calmer. Also urpier. But anyway. Beside the point.

Jason's friend's wife (she's fifteen weeks along) told me that for ten dollars, a person can get a 3D ultrasound at the Vo-tech because they're doing some training class. She's getting one in a few weeks. Hmm.

I will not over-utilize medical technology. I will not over-utilize medical technology. I will not over-utilize medical technology.

But TEN dollars!?!

2004-06-14, 5:04 p.m.
whoosh-whoosh-whoosh-whoosh

Nine Weeks.

Man oh man oh man I want a Doppler.

Knowing that it could be possible to hear the heartbeat is making me insane to hear it, all of a sudden. I listened with my stethoscope forever but nada. I mean, you know. Stuff. My pulse from various arteries, for example. But no kiddo's. Which I know you aren't supposed to hear with a regular steth until like 18 weeks or something but anyway.

DOPPLER.

I am tempted to do one of two stupid things.

  1. Spend way too much money to buy or rent a Doppler. Although I want it right NOW so ordering one online is not sounding good and I don't know where I can go and get one. The ones at Babies R Us suck.

  2. Put on scrubs and a white coat and a nametag and go to the ER and act like I'm supposed to be there, then take the doppler to the bathroom and listen. Probably I'm too chickenshit to actually pull this one off. Also last time I was in the ER the Dopplers were locked up.

I have an appointment in a week but that is just not soon enough! I keep thinking about tons of awful things that could happen/have happened and I just want to hear the heart. beat. ack.

{Previous} {Next}

35 weeks - 2009-04-26
baby girl! - 2008-12-31
15 weeks - 2008-12-11
twelve weeks - 2008-11-19
8 weeks - 2008-10-22