{Current Entry} {Archive} {Notes} {Belly} {Names}
{Image} {Host} {Layout} {Guestbook}

2004-11-16, 5:23 p.m.
edumacation

Okay I want to see the baby NOW. I know she is not done cooking but I am getting impatient. What does she look like? How will we do at breastfeeding? How will the delivery go? I can't wait any MORE to find out. But I will because yeah. It just needs to start going faster. I'm not working enough, I think.

We went to baby care class last Saturday and then I had my first breastfeeding class last night. Both were basically entirely un-helpful. The baby care one was mostly about what is part of a newborn exam, what's in the newborn screen (which the nurse got totally WRONG by the way.... PKU does not just mean that your kid can't have hot dogs until he's five. Gah.), what to do when they have a fever, etc. So yeah crap I already knew. Blah. The only thing I really learned was how to swaddle... lots of times the babies at the hospital are swaddled and after I unwrap them to listen to their hearts or whatever I just kind of.... wedge the blanket back around them. But now I'm a pro swaddler. Anyway. I didn't want to learn all that medical crap, I wanted to learn what to DO with her all day and whatnot. Sigh. We also practiced diapering with disposables or "bag-of-chips diapers" as J says. We should have brought some cloth but I didn't think about it.

Breastfeeding class was almost all about "Why You Should Breastfeed." Um yeah thanks. But I KNOW why I should breastfeed. That's why I paid the thirty-five dollars for the breastfeeding class. I wanted practical tips which I guess they're doing next week. Or they had better. But anyway yeah. The women's center place has a 95% breastfeeding initiation rate, and they have a form you can fill out that says not to give artificial nipples, except the lactation lady said that the nurses don't always look at the form. Anyway, I don't want Evelyn out of my room, so I should be able to protect her from artificial nipples. And J has been instructed to do the same when I'm in the shower or something.

She also said the center has a "99.9%" epidural rate. Fabulous. Fabulous fabulous fabulous. I'm hoping she just doesn't know what she's talking about. She certainly didn't know what she was talking about regarding gestational diabetes.... grrrr. I just sat on my hands because I really didn't want to get into it but yeah. Note to all medical people (nurses seem the worst to me): If you don't know the answer to a question, just SAY YOU DON'T KNOW, don't make up some crap answer that just confuses the person asking said question.

I am going to get the patient-of-the-year award. I bet. They will LURVE me.

I am starting to feel the mama bear thing.... as in, "Stay AWAY from my baby with your ignorance and your pacifiers." Growl.

Also she is STILL transverse. And enjoys kicking me right in the kidney. Ow. Does anybody know exercises to get them to turn? I haven't bought the birth ball yet, I've been kind of leaning over the recliner and rocking but I don't know if that's helping. I want her to TURN. I was breech, you know. Yep.

Okay the mail just came. Need to look at it and then get back on the couch. I have a cold.

xoxoxo

2004-11-12, 3:49 p.m.
advice

I wish my co-workers would keep their opinions to themselves about where I'm delivering. They act like I'm this terrible mother because the women's center place doesn't have a Level 3 NICU and oscillators and ECMO and what if my baby needs intubated, the nurses there don't intubate much! Oh panic!

Or when I say where I'm delivering they say, "Wow, you're brave." UGH. Just because I work in the medical field does not automatically make my pregnancy high-risk. And if my baby comes out with no PULSE then I think I'll have other worries than the experience level of the nurses.

And anyway, I should tell them that THEY are brave for getting inductions and epidurals when they know the risks. And delivering in hospitals full of sick people.

PUH. On them.

J reminded me that unwanted advice should be replied to with "Maybe I should." Works well enough for the in-laws. I need to remember it.

But next time anybody at work says, "Where are you delivering?" I think I'll tell them that I plan to just squat in the backyard. It would get the same reaction.

Grr.

2004-11-11, 4:31 p.m.
twenty-nine weeks

Evelyn evelyn evelyn.

I alternate between wanting her to come out NOW so I can see her, and wanting her to wait a long, long time so I can get stuff more ready. And so she can, you know, fully develop. But yeah.

Today in clinic there was a little one-month-old who starting crying during his visit and Evelyn started kicking like mad. Like "Hey, what's wrong with that guy? Somebody help him!" At least that's how I interpreted it. :) See how compassionate my baby is?

I passed my glucose screen but my hemoglobin was only 11 so I'm starting iron pills. I can't believe I don't feel worse with a hemoglobin of 11! Maybe once I'm un-anemic I will feel like Supergirl.

My belly is BIG. And cumbersome. This morning I got down on the floor to wipe off the dog's muddy feet and I could Not. Get. Up. Luckily Jason was still home to assist me. It sucked.

That is all. Except I'll post a picture of the cloth wipes I'm making.... they will be better now that my mother-in-law found the serger. And you can see the cloth-diapered bear. Heh. He needs a name.

{Previous} {Next}

35 weeks - 2009-04-26
baby girl! - 2008-12-31
15 weeks - 2008-12-11
twelve weeks - 2008-11-19
8 weeks - 2008-10-22