{Current Entry} {Archive} {Notes} {Belly} {Names}
{Image} {Host} {Layout} {Guestbook}

2005-03-24, 7:25 a.m.
nine weeks old

Let's see what's new on the Evelyn front.... she's laughing more and that's hilarious. I am still always calling her Gooby. Jason laughed at me until the last few days when he's been calling her Gooby, too. He's like, "She likes it, she thinks it's her name." Heh. If she is ever crying, I can bounce her and sing "What's the matter with the Gooby?" to the tune of "I've been working on the railroad" and she stops crying instantly. It is actually kind of amazing.

Parenting makes a person silly. :)

She has slept seven hours straight a few times at night. Last night she slept from 11 until 6 am, which was way lurvely because I went to sleep at the same time she did for once. During the day she still has an eat/play/get fussy/sleep pattern going. Sometimes she goes two hours without sleeping and just eats again but not usually. She usually naps about 30 minutes and then wakes up, eats, is up an hour or so more, then repeats. It will be nice when she has more organized "naptimes" but I am definitely not complaining.

Um. Work is looming. I have had a few moments of bawling and sobbing because I cannot. Leave. My baby. I don't even want to think about it. Subject change.

Although related to that was our crisis of the week.... Jason's been giving her a bottle of milk every week/twice a week so she doesn't forget how to take it. Well last week we went longer than a week because I just got lazy and it's so much easier to nurse than to pump/clean bottles/warm bottles/ figure out when bottle will be wanted/clean pump parts, etc. So anyway, when we tried to give her a bottle on Sunday she was just NOT having it. She gagged and sputtered and SCREAMED and looked at us like "What the fuck are you people trying to do to me?" It was horrible. She has never been a big bottle fan but she had never freaked out like this before and refused to take anything. It was horrible. I was crying and feeling so guilty for not staying home so she doesn't need bottles. And J was feeling guilty for not making enough money that I could stay home with her. And ugh ugh ugh. Finally I just nursed her and then the next few days we changed bottles and have been giving her a bottle every day, which she's been doing well with. Although now she nurses all squirmy and twisty and ow. Which might be an "I want to look around because I'm a big girl" thing and not a bottle thing. But still ow. Anyway. I hate pumping and she hates bottles. But we're getting by.

I should really go back to bed and sleep awhile, J and Evie are asleep. I just felt so rested after that seven hours of sleep. Plus hungry. Breastfeeding makes me hungry like never before.

Oh yeah my dad and stepmom are coming to visit today. They've never seen the baby. They're staying through the weekend.

Okay going. Longest entry ever. La la.

{Previous} {Next}

35 weeks - 2009-04-26
baby girl! - 2008-12-31
15 weeks - 2008-12-11
twelve weeks - 2008-11-19
8 weeks - 2008-10-22