{Current Entry} {Archive} {Notes} {Belly} {Names}
{Image} {Host} {Layout} {Guestbook}

2005-07-21, 8:49 p.m.
checkup

Baby girl had her six-month checkup this week. She weighs 19 lbs 11 oz and is 27.5 inches long. Can't remember her head circumference but it was normal. She's in the 95th percentiles for weight and height, just like me when I was a tubby baby. She's sweeet. Her pediatrician says she's the prettiest baby she sees (she probably says that to all the babies but Evie really IS so pretty.) Everything else was fine and she's developing fine. Which I knew but I like to have somebody else listen to her and look at her and whatnot, you know? Just to reassure me.

She got her shots and with the topical lidocaine-prilocaine stuff I put on an hour before, she didn't even notice the first two! The third one the nurse injected outside the numbed area. Pffft. But Evelyn didn't cry too long so anyway. Next time that nurse needs to have better aim, though. But no more shots for quite awhile so that's good.

Today we went to gymb_ree (the clothes one) and got her some sleepers. It is getting hard to find the sleepers with feet in her size in all-cotton. They have them there but they are overpriced, but I had a discount thing. So yeah. And one of them is I think supposed to be for boys but whatever. Jason also inSISted on getting her a onesie from there with a pirate on it. Which I KNOW is for boys but again. Whatever. Jason loves that pirate shirt and Evie doesn't need to be defined by her gender, anyway. Does she now. La la.

She's been going to bed earlier lately. Already asleeeep. I'm going to finish cereal. xoxo

2005-07-18, 7:48 p.m.
accomplishments

She rolled over back to belly today, and held her own cup better, and caught herself with her arm when she was about to fall while sitting. Smarty. This is all per J's report since i was at work all day. now we've been playing and im trying to type while holding her but shes getting more and more wiggly. she wants to type

cdddddd h

okay gotta go

2005-07-17, 6:46 p.m.
baby day

I am going to try to make a habit of writing in here more... I don't want to forget all these baby days.

Today we went to church and Evie looked all around during the songs and then got very talkative right before the sermon so we all went to the little chapel with the closed-circuit TV and she nursed, and then J walked her around until she went to sleep. One of the ER nurses was in there with her six-month-old who was also asleep. Then there was about a one-year-old who kept screeeaaming. But that's okay.

Then my BIL took us to lunch at an Indian buffet... we discovered that buffets are the best for parents because by the time the kid gets sick of being there, you've already eaten! Although I generally hate buffets since I'm a germ-phobe. But anyway. There was another six-month-old baby girl at the Indian place and her family couldn't believe that Evelyn was only six months too since she's so BIG. But yep. A 20-pound six-month-old is what we have. I was a big baby too and she's breastfed so I'm not worried about her being fat later on like some people talk about. She's fiiiiine.

Today she has played with her toys a lot and she took a 2-hour nap. J and I have been taking turns with the Harry Potter. It's been a pretty relaxing day. I made brownies during naptime so we're going to have those soon. Not Evie, of course. Although I may let her play around with some banana... she's had banana from a jar a few times and we have some organic bananas right now so yeah I might mush one for her.

I need to eat my soup.

xoxo

2005-07-14, 2:49 p.m.
six months!

I can't believe my Gooby is six months old! It has gone so fast. She is a wonderful baby and we are so lucky to have her in our family. She loves playing on the floor on her blanket now, and rolling around and chewing on her board books, and her stacking rings, and her blocks, and whatever else. She reaches out and touches/pats our faces a lot of times when we pick her up, which is the sweetest. She looooves her food. I think that today she sort of signed "all done" when she was finished eating? But it's hard to tell if she meant it, exactly. She doesn't sign "milk," but instead just grabs at my shirt when it's nursey-time. It works. She has the cutest laugh and smile. When somebody comes and talks to her when she's being held, she smiles at them and then hides her face in your shoulder, like she's shy. She does that with the mirror sometimes, too.

We LOVE her.

Happy six-months-old birthday baby!

{Previous} {Next}

35 weeks - 2009-04-26
baby girl! - 2008-12-31
15 weeks - 2008-12-11
twelve weeks - 2008-11-19
8 weeks - 2008-10-22